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Why it’s smart for consumer startups to grow first and make money later

I’ve had two recent conversations in which people have mentioned the “grow first, monetize later” philosophy as one of the signs of the coming bubble apocalypse, and this post is to argue why it’s very smart and rational to focus on getting millions of users first. (This post is part of my 2011 blogging roadmap)

Regarding monetization, I’ll note that…

  • in general, consumer products mostly suck at monetizing
  • any business model built on 1% subscriptions of 0.1% ads need millions of users
  • costs are ridiculously low for new startups, and N millions of users is not expensive
  • ignore this for products like marketplaces where monetization is part of the value prop

An ad-based example
Here’s some quick math- let’s say that you are a typical seed-stage team of 4 trying to get your startup off the ground, and your burn is approximately $40k/month. If you monetize at $0.25 CPM, which is a pretty typical ad rate for every thousand ad impressions, then that means you need a whopping 160M ad impressions per month to break even[1]. Even if you get 2X or 10X that ad rate, you’re still in the millions of users to get there. Scary right?

A subscription-based example
Similarly, if your site has a freemium business model, you’ll find that something like 1% of users subscribe for a pretty nicely tuned freemium configuration. So if you have 1% of registered users paying you $5/month, that means your average user is worth $0.05. Given this, you’d need 800k registered users, and if only 10% of your users register, you’ll need millions of users to get there.

Ultimately, the key is new user growth
Given the difficulty of monetization for consumer products, ultimately the best way to get to breakeven isn’t to try to optimize the 1% subscription rate to 2%, but rather to pick a huge market, create a killer product, and try to acquire millions of users. Because this is the biggest risk, you want to focus on growth first and foremost.

Here’s a different analogy that Steve Blank uses to get at this- let’s say that you wanted to create a cancer-curing drug. You don’t need to crunch the business model for that- if you had it, it’s valuable. You don’t need to price test or do customer development. All the risk is in the science, so you just focus on the science.

Similarly, I’d argue that in consumer internet, the real risk is that you can’t get millions of users actively engaged in your product, and that risk is ultimately driven by growth and long-term user retention. Thus focus on that first, then figure out the monetization once you’re at scale.

Stuff is so cheap these days
Note also that running a site with millions of users is cheap. The cost of hiring developers/designers will vastly overshadow the cost of maintaining the infrastructure- all you need are a few dedicated servers or just use Amazon Web Services- unlike the 90s, you don’t need a huge datacenter to get started. Because these costs are pretty low, you can just focus on making sure your designers and developers are productive and you’re getting to product/market fit.

Ignore this advice for products where revenue is part of the value prop
Of course for products where you are helping people make money as the central value, you need to do this sooner rather than later, so that you can make the entire network happen. So if you’re building a marketplace, collect money early, even if you don’t take very much profit. Same with Groupon-esque startups.

[1] CPM to revenue calculation
$0.25 CPM = $0.25 for every 1000 impressions
$0.25 / 1000 = $0.00025 per ad
$40k burn / $0.00025 per ad = 160M ad impressions per month

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  • Anonymous

    I offer to your attention a film about six priorities of the generalized instruments of management by countries and people of Earth.
    Six Principles of Global Manipulation

    Anti-Qur’an Strategy of the Bible Project Wheeler-Dealers

  • Anonymous

    Just curious, how many websites get 160 million uniques each month?

  • http://blog.titocosta.com/ Tito Costa

    I would guess less than 100. I tried to use alexa.com but no absolute uniques or pageviews stats are provided.

  • http://andrewchen.typepad.com Andrew Chen

    160 million impressions, not uniques.

  • Anonymous

    OK, impressions. Still, how many sites out there have that many impressions?

  • http://andrewchen.typepad.com Andrew Chen

    I’d guesstimate ~10,000 at most.

  • Michael Wesolowski

    I read what is being said and see it in action but do not think it is every entrepreneur’s reality, I mean you gotta eat and pay for the palace.

  • http://readburner.wordpress.com alexmarktl

    How can a team of 4 people have a burn rate of 40K per month?
    We’re 4 people and we’re nowhere near that burn rate…

  • http://www.flowtown.com Dan Martell

    10K per person per month is a general rule of thumb for a funded startup.

  • http://www.HubSpot.com Dharmesh Shah

    That’s a useful rule of thumb.  Thanks.

  • http://www.HubSpot.com Dharmesh Shah

    It’s actually likely less than 1,000.  

  • http://andufo.com Andres Santos

    just build something cool and they will come.

  • http://twitter.com/siberianfruit Deena Varshavskaya

    I love that your posts are always at a very helpful level of detail and specificity. 

    I wonder how many companies are able to get the type of growth you mention. Are you under the impression that this is now a common case for companies to be able to gain such masses of users? Any idea how common this is? 

  • http://andrewchen.typepad.com Andrew Chen

    Hello! First comment right?

    The other comments on this thread speculate on the # of sites that can do this, and we’re thinking the top 1,000 to 10,000 sites, at the most? I think that the CPM I gave is probably low for sites (like yours) that have commercial intent built on SEO-friendly pages- that might be closer to a few bucks, which means you don’t need millions? Also people like to put multiple ads on one page, and a bunch of other things too.All that said, doing $500k/yr in revenue on purely ads is still tough- you need a real site to do that.

  • http://twitter.com/siberianfruit Deena Varshavskaya

    My first comment here. Correct :)

    Next time I’ll run through the comments before asking. I have very little interest in putting ads on Wanelo at the moment, but I’m interested in the traffic acquisition portion of the conversation. 

  • http://twitter.com/kareemy Kareem Ahmed

    Thanks for the input.

  • http://twitter.com/DeanandBond David Becker

    Before entrepreneurs build out a financial model with $5.00 CPMs or 10% conversion rates, they should read your well-reasoned article.

    What surprises me is  given the number of apps and sites that I have signed up for recently how few companies use retention and conversion emails to improve my use of and commitment to their product.

  • http://twitter.com/buzzlair Buzzlair Voufincci

    The ugly truth. It is scary to even guess how hard it is to acquire at least 1 million users on 6 millions targeted demographic.

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